museumsitespeed.blogg.se

Usb microphone for mac mini
Usb microphone for mac mini






usb microphone for mac mini

The only negative is that it doesn’t have a mute button. My co-host and editor Doug Adams applied some compression to my voice, but it sounds quite good, if I say so myself. How does it sound? You can listen to Episode 10 of The Next Track, which is the first episode since I got the shock mount. Here’s how it looks on the stand with the shock mount: You can’t use the pop shield, and the two buttons on the side of the mic aren’t as accessible as some people may want. (, Amazon UK) The shock mount is “compatible” with the NT-USB, but it’s not perfect. This not only protects recordings from parasite noises, but also makes it easier to mount the mic on the boom so it’s straight up. I worked like this for a while, but then realized that I needed a shock mount. (I bought this one from Amazon UK you can find something similar on .) When I record, I place the boom to my right, and the microphone in front of me. I then bough a standard microphone boom, which is highly adjustable. I first bought one that mounted on my desk, but the NT-USB is too heavy. In order to be comfortable, I mounted the microphone on a boom.

Usb microphone for mac mini manual#

This is a cardioid mic here’s the polar response from the manual : The bottom one is for the headphone volume, and the top one is a monitor mix control if you want to listen to yourself through headphones, you adjust the balance between your source and your incoming audio. There is a 1/8″ headphone jack on the side of the mic, and two knobs for onboard monitoring. The sound is very good, and it’s best if you are very close to the mic. Just plug it into a computer or hub, and choose it in your recording app. You could use the desk stand for, say, Skype calls, but you don’t need such a good microphone for that use.Īs the name suggests, this is a USB microphone. While the pop screen is excellent, the desk stand is too low for any serious use you need to be much closer to the microphone than you can be with this stand to make it sound good. (, Amazon UK)Īs you can see from the photo on the left, the Rode NT-USB comes with a desk stand and a pop screen, both useful accessories. After reading a number of reviews, I settled on the Rode NT-USB. I’ve used a number of microphones over the years for podcasting, but I finally decided that I needed something better.

usb microphone for mac mini

The Rode NT-USB Mini is available now in the US for $99 with other region’s availability and pricing to follow.I record several podcasts, and co-host two: The Next Track, a podcast about how people listen to music today, and The Committed, a weekly tech podcast about Apple and more. The NT-USB Mini features an integrated pop filter and is constructed from “hard-wearing steel and reinforced nylon resin”, so it should be compact and rugged enough for grab-and-go situations. The NT-USB Mini is class-compliant, meaning it will work immediately with any computer or tablet when hooked up via USB, with no drivers, firmware or apps required. Outside of the company’s reputation for professional, studio-grade audio quality, one of Rode’s standout features is the simplicity in which its microphones interface with other gear. It’s attached magnetically to a 360-degree swivelling mount for the microphone, so you can quickly detach it and mount it on a mic stand or studio arm.

usb microphone for mac mini

The desktop stand is weighted and is designed to absorb any shocks from a bumped desk. The interface on this little Rode mic is incredibly minimal, with a single dial that adjusts headphone level found on the front, and a USB-C and 3.5mm headphone port found on the rear.








Usb microphone for mac mini